top of page

Training After the Season


Now that the season is over it is time to assess your dog, did they perform as expected, is there anything that needs addressed. Were they solid thru the flush and shot(if that was your desire), did they retrieve as expected. Or maybe you have a young dog that has not had formal training but was with you in the field to expose them to wild birds. I like to start field training on young dogs when they show me they are mature enough to handle the pressure. Usually that is somewhere from 9 months to 15 months old.

Now is the time to address any issues you may have, your dog is in excellent shape and they have been learning from wild birds for the last few months. Most folks are ready to kick back and take a break as well as give Fido a break. In my opinion a short break is good for me and my dogs, it gives me time to reflect back on the season and to do that assessment on each dog and to develop a plan for each.

For me I plan on steadying a dog to flush and shot, another dog I am going to work her on "Trained Retrieve". The others I plan on getting out in the training field and running at least twice a week just to keep them in shape. The point is your dog is primed for learning now, both physically and mentally, don't make the mistake of countless others that just let Fido be a couch potato and then expect them to perform in the fall with no problems. I prefer to address any issues in the Spring and then re-address just before the season opens to be sure the previous training is solid. Even if they regress after Spring training it will take a very short time to get them corrected in the fall before the season starts.

It is time to get the fishing poles out but don't forget about you best hunting partner!

Hope this helps ......

And remember 1 Cor. 10:31 .......... "what ever you do, do all for the Glory of God.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page