top of page

Nutrition For the Hunt

As we get closer to hunting season where I live I thought it would be good to visit nutrition again. A few years back I was helping with a media hunt for Quail Forever, I had the privilege of guiding Larry Brown an outdoor free lance writer who was doing an article for Pointing Dog Journal. Larry told me about a Purina seminar he attended and one of the discussions was "How to Feed For the Hunt". As we were hunting we were discussing the proper way to feed to prepare your dog optimum performance. At that time I of course would increase food intake for the dogs to keep weight on them, I was feeding twice a day at equal amounts morning and evening. This was definitely not the optimum way to feed my dogs for the hunt.

What Larry had learned was it was best to feed heavy in the evenings up to double the normal amount. After our discussion it really makes sense if you think about it, how many of you eat a large meal and then go for heavy workout. If your like me I like to relax a bit after eating, well your pup probably feels the same way. The Purina study shows dogs performed better with a empty colon and stomach. So I took what Larry had shared with me and started feeding up to double the night before the hunt, I also will float the kibble with water to be sure the dogs are hydrated. I sometimes feed a very light morning meal, 1/4 or less of the normal amount. Have you ever noticed one of the first things a dog does before he hunts is empty his colon?

Dogs get their energy from stored fat so we want a high protein and fat content in the kibble. It is also a good idea to give your dog a snack on a long day hunt especially if you're hunting several days in succession. One idea is to give them a "power bar" such as Turbo Pup which is 20% fat & 18% protein. I carry extra water for the dogs if I'm hunting an area with little available water.

So we're ready to hunt, we got the dogs on a high protein and fat formula, I feed Purina Pro Plan Sport 30/20. I feed up to double the evening before and float the kibble in water to ensure hydration. Do this with a well conditioned dog and you will enjoy your hunt.

And remember 1 Cor. 10:31 .......... "what ever you do, do all for the Glory of God.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page